

## Report of the Meeting of the

## Board of Trustees of the Utah Transit Authority (UTA) held at UTA FrontLines Headquarters located at 669 West 200 South, Salt Lake City, Utah January 31, 2018

## **Board Members Present:**

Greg Bell, Chair Babs De Lay

Sherrie Hall Everett, Vice Chair Robert McKinley (via telephone)

Jeff AcersonToby MileskiNecia ChristensenBret MillburnAlex CragunTroy Walker

Karen Cronin

**Board Members Excused/Not in Attendance:** Cort Ashton, Gina Chamness, Jeff Hawker, Charles Henderson, and Dannie McConkie

Also attending were members of UTA staff, as well as interested citizens and media representatives.

**Welcome and Call to Order.** Chair Bell welcomed attendees and called the meeting to order at 3:03 p.m. with ten voting board members present in person or via telephone. The board and meeting attendees then recited the Pledge of Allegiance.

**Safety Minute.** Chair Bell yielded the floor to Dave Goeres, UTA Chief Safety, Security & Technology Officer, for a brief safety message.

**Potential Swearing in of New Trustee.** Rebecca Cruz, UTA Board of Trustees Support Manager, administered the oath of office to Toby Mileski who was appointed to the board to represent Weber County and the municipalities of Brigham City, Perry, and Willard in Box Elder County (filling the unexpired term of Brent Taylor).

**R2018-01-05:** Second Resolution Regarding the Work of the Transportation Task Force. Chair Bell presented the resolution which expresses support for certain provisions in the bill stemming from the work of the Legislative Task Force on Transportation Funding and Governance, including board size and funding.

**Public Comment.** No public comment was given.

**Board Action.** A motion to approve resolution R2018-01-05 was made by Trustee Millburn and seconded by Trustee Walker. Discussion ensued during which several trustees opined on various aspects of the resolution, with some expressing full support for the resolution and others expressing partial support with some reservations.

Vice Chair Everett made substitute motion to request a work session between the UTA Board of Trustees and the Transportation Task Force to review governance issues and reforms, and to answer questions or concerns. The motion was seconded by Trustee Cronin. Discussion on the substitute motion ensued.

Chair Bell called for a vote on the substitute motion. The substitute motion failed to pass with two aye votes from Trustees Everett and McKinley; eight nay votes from Trustees Bell, Acerson, Christensen, Cragun, De Lay, Mileski, Millburn, and Walker; and no abstentions.

Chair Bell called for a vote on the original motion to approve R2018-01-05. The motion carried by majority consent with eight aye votes from Trustees Bell, Acerson, Christensen, Cragun, De Lay, Mileski, Millburn, and Walker; two nay votes from Trustees Everett and McKinley; and no abstentions.

Following the vote, Chair Bell asked board members to speak to UTA's official position on the resolution (i.e., endorsing the resolution) when reporting to their appointing authorities.

**Adjournment.** The meeting was adjourned at 3:54 p.m. by motion.

Transcribed by Cathie Griffiths Assistant to the President/CEO Utah Transit Authority cgriffiths@rideuta.com 801.237.1945

This document is not intended to serve as a full transcript as additional discussion may have taken place; please refer to the meeting materials, audio, or video located at <a href="https://www.utah.gov/pmn/sitemap/notice/443629.html">https://www.utah.gov/pmn/sitemap/notice/443629.html</a> for entire content.

This document along with the digital recording constitute the official minutes of this meeting.