

Report of the Special Meeting of the Board of Trustees of the Utah Transit Authority (UTA) held at UTA FrontLines Headquarters located at 669 West 200 South, Salt Lake City, Utah August 31, 2016

Board Members Present:

H. David Burton, Chair Robert McKinley, Vice Chair Jeff Acerson Justin Allen Keith Bartholomew Matthew Bell Necia Christensen Sherrie Hall Everett Jeff Hawker Charles Henderson (via telephone) Dannie McConkie Bret Millburn Michael Romero Troy Walker (via telephone)

Board Members Excused/Not in Attendance: Babs De Lay

Also attending were members of UTA staff, as well as interested citizens and media representatives.

Welcome and Call to Order. Chair Burton welcomed attendees and called the meeting to order at 3:02 p.m. with thirteen voting board members present, including Trustees Henderson and Walker who joined the meeting via telephone. The board and meeting attendees then recited the Pledge of Allegiance.

Trustee Millburn joined the meeting at 3:04 p.m.

Safety Minute. Chair Burton yielded the floor to Dave Goeres, UTA Chief Safety and Security Officer, for a brief safety message.

Resolution R2016-08-03: President/CEO Selection.

Presentation of Item.

Public Input. Robert Biles, acting in his role a secretary to the board, summarized public comment received online stating that two comments were received in favor of the item, two comments expressed a need to hire outside of the agency, and one comment was in opposition. Mayor Tom Dolan, who was representing the Salt Lake County Council of Governments (COG) read a resolution from the COG endorsing the appointment of Jerry Benson as President/CEO of UTA and then offered personal comments. Additional inperson public input was given by Tammi Diaz, Stan Parrish (representing the Sandy Area Chamber of Commerce), Andrew Gruber (representing the Wasatch Front Regional Council), George Chapman, Cherryl Beveridge, and Dan Kennaley.

Board Discussion and Decision/Action. Chair Burton read the resolution. A motion to approve the President/CEO selection was made by Trustee Christensen and seconded by Trustee McConkie. Discussion ensued wherein Trustees Bartholomew, Everett, Millburn, Christensen, McConkie, and Henderson expressed their support of the resolution. The motion carried by unanimous consent.

Following the vote, Chair Burton requested that Mr. Benson make a few comments.

Swearing in of President/CEO. Rebecca Cruz, UTA Board Coordination Manager, administered the oath of office to Jerry R. Benson.

Swearing in of Trustee(s). Ms. Cruz administered the oath of office to Jeff Hawker and Bret Millburn.

Items for Consent. There were no consent items on the agenda.

Action Taken Regarding Matters Discussed in Closed Session. No closed session was held.

Other Business. No other business was discussed.

Adjournment. The meeting was adjourned at 3:49 p.m. by motion.

Transcribed by Cathie Griffiths Assistant to the President/CEO Utah Transit Authority cgriffiths@rideuta.com 801.237.1945